Isle Of Anglesey Charitable Trust Committee

Minutes of the meeting held on 18 June 2013

PRESENT: Lewis Davies, Richard A. Dew, Jeff Evans, Jim Evans,

Ann Griffith, John Griffith, Derlwyn R. Hughes, Kenneth P. Hughes, Vaughan Hughes, T. Victor Hughes, W.T. Hughes, Llinos M. Huws, Aled M. Jones, Carwyn Jones, Gwilym O. Jones, Raymond Jones, Richard O. Jones, R.Ll. Jones, R. Meirion Jones, Alun Mummery, Bob Parry OBE, Dylan Rees, J. Arwel Roberts, Nicola Roberts,

Peter S. Rogers, Alwyn Rowlands, Ieuan Williams.

IN ATTENDANCE: Secretary,

Treasurer.

Committee Officer (MEH).

APOLOGIES: Trefor LI. Hughes, H. Eifion Jones, Dafydd R. Thomas.

ALSO PRESENT: None

1 ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

Mr. T. Victor Hughes was elected Chairperson for the ensuing year.

The Chair thanked the meeting for their confidence in him.

2 ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRPERSON

Mr. Aled Morris Jones was elected Vice-Chairperson for the ensuing year.

The Vice-Chair thanked the meeting for their confidence in him.

3 DECLARATION OF INTEREST

No declaration of interest received.

4 MINUTES

The minutes of the meeting held on 23 April, 2013 were confirmed and signed.

5 MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES OF THE ISLE OF ANGLESEY CHARITABLE TRUST

The Secretary gave a presentation on the establishment of the Charitable Trust following the legacy left by Shell UK for the benefit of the people of Anglesey. He noted that the value of the Trust is around £15m together with the land at Rhosgoch of over 190 acres. The County Council is the Trustee of the Charitable Trust, acting through its members.

He stated that the Charitable Trust has discussed the possible conflict of interest between the role of the Officers of the County Council and the Charitable Trust together with the role of the Elected Members as Members of the County Council and as members of the Trust's Trustee. The Charitable Trust has decided to seek professional advice on the future administration of the Trust together with advice in respect of the sale of the land at Rhosgoch. With charity law becoming increasingly more complex and compliance with Charity Commission guidance being an essential

requirement, the separation of the administration of the Trust from the Council would ensure that suitable specialist advice and support is available to the Trust going forward.

The Secretary further noted that that Charitable Trust will operate with a Chairman and Vice-Chairman and three committees; the Investments and Contracts Committee, General Grants Committee and the Regeneration Committee. However, very little activity has taken place within the Regeneration Committee in recent years and its meetings are very infrequent. In the past, members have tried to avoid introducing political aspect in the Trust's activities and every member was expected to serve on one of its three committees.

In accordance with the Deed that governs the Trust, the members sign the cheques drawn against the Trust's account. Three members of the Trust are required on the Trust's mandate and any two must sign each time. The Chair, the Vice-Chair and one other member must sign – usually the third signatory is the former Chair.

RESOLVED

- To authorise the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Charitable Trust and the Chair of the General Grants Committee (when appointed) to sign cheques on behalf of the Trust;
- To confirm the establishment of 3 committees to act on behalf of the full Trust and, unanimously, to forgo the need for political balance. The membership to be as follows:-

Investments and Contracts Committee:

Ann Griffith, Kenneth P. Hughes, Trefor Ll. Hughes, A.M. Jones, G.O. Jones, H. Eifion Jones, R.Ll. Jones, Alun Mummery, Ms. Nicola Roberts, Dafydd R. Thomas.

Chair and Vice-Chair of the Isle of Anglesey Charitable Trust as ex-officio.

General Grants Committee:

Lewis Davies, Richard A. Dew, Jeff M. Evans, Jim Evans, Vaughan Hughes, Victor Hughes, Llinos M. Huws, Richard O. Jones, Dylan Rees, Peter S. Rogers.

Chair and Vice-Chair of the Isle of Anglesey Charitable Trust as ex-officio.

Regeneration Committee:

John Griffith, Derlwyn R. Hughes, W.T. Hughes, Carwyn Jones, Raymond Jones, R. Meirion Jones, Bob Parry OBE, J. Arwel Roberts, Alwyn Rowlands, Ieuan Williams.

Chair and Vice-Chair of the Isle of Anglesey Charitable Trust as ex-officio.

- To authorise the Committees to appoint a Chair and Vice-Chair to enable them to operate effectively.
- To accept that there may be a need to reconsider the above following the present review of the Trust's Constitution and its methods of operation when the external Solicitors commissioned to complete the work report back on such matters.
- Membership of these Committees to remain for the duration of the present County Council or until any changes are made to the Constitution following the review.

Mr T. V. Hughes Chair